All Types of Haki in the “One Piece” Anime Series

Haki, sometimes called “Haki,” is a mysterious power found in the world of One Piece. There are three distinct types of Haki: Observation Haki, Conqueror’s Haki, and Armament Haki. Each type has its own unique characteristics and uses. Find out more here about the different types of Haki and how it is used!

What is Haki?

Haki is a mysterious power that can be found in the world of One Piece. It is an innate ability to sense and control spiritual energy and physical will, allowing certain people to overpower the minds and bodies of others. Haki grants its users the power to do incredible feats such as seeing the future, or lifting immense levels of weight.

Recommended >> Luffy Gears Up for a New Adventure: Gear 5 Explained

First appearance of Haki in One Piece

first appearance of haki

The use of Haki first appeared in One Piece in Chapter 1 of the manga. But only in Chapter 234 the word “Haki” was used for the first time.

In the very first chapter, Captain Red-Haired Shanks demonstrated Conqueror’s Haki when he clashed with the Lord of the Coast. However, it was never explained and the word “Haki” was never used.

Some believe that incident was just a foreshadowing of the Haki ability. But some others believe that it was just a convinient coincidence.

Recommended >> When Does Luffy Learn Haki?

Types of Haki

There are three known types of Haki. They are Observation Haki, Conqueror’s Haki and Armament Haki.

  • Color of Arms (Armament Haki or Busoshoku Haki)
  • Color of Observation (Observation Haki or Kenbunshoku Haki)
  • Color of the Supreme King (Conqueror’s Haki or Haoshoku Haki)

Observation Haki allows its user to sense the presence of others even in the most obscure locations. Conqueror’s Haki grants its users the power to exert their will over other people or creatures. Armament Haki gives its users a strong physical defense that is virtually indestructible.

Armament Haki

armament haki

Busoshoku Haki, also known as Armament Haki, allows the user to physically enforce their body with their mind.

This type of Haki is used to increase the user’s physical abilities by enhancing either their offensive or defensive capabilities.

Busoshoku can protect the body from harm. Armament Haki infused weapons are almost indestructible and able to bypass any obstruction, making it one of the most powerful forms available in One Piece.

Sub Types & Applications:

  • Ryou Emission – Shields an area away from their body.
  • Internal Damage – Luffy’s Ryou attacks.
  • Weapon Infusion – Zoro’s sword attacks.

Observation Haki

observation haki

Observation Haki, or Kenbunshoku Haki, is a type of Haki which allows the user to sense the presence of other people, animals and objects. It allows its users to have a sixth sense that allows them to “observe” their surroundings without having to physically see them. This allows them to be able to spot hidden enemies or traps as well as predict the moves of the enemy. Unfortunately, this type of Haki is not very useful against people with Conqueror’s Haki.

Sub Types & Applications:

  • Sensing presence and emotion of target.
  • Strength gauging.
  • Future sight.

Conqueror’s Haki

conqueror's haki

Conqueror’s Haki, or Haoushoku Haki, is a rare type of Haki that only one in several million people possess. This type of Haki allows the user to overpower and dominate even living beings and is known as the “power of the supreme kings.” The user can also use it to bypass the powers of other forms of Haki so they can hit their target with this form. When using Conqueror’s Haki, the user will often get a smoky aura or redish-black waves coming off them.

Sub Types & Applications:

  • Willpower draining & domination.
  • Infusion with attacks.

List Of Characters with Conqueror’s Haki

List Of Characters with Conqueror's Haki

Conqueror’s Haki, also known as Haoushoku Haki, is one of the three forms of One Piece Haki. It is a very rare and the highest form of Haki.

Only 20 characters in the series have been seen using this form of Haki. Some of the most powerful Conqueror’s Haki are Shanks, Monkey D Luffy, Roronoa Zoro, Dracule Mihawk, Charlotte Linlin, Kaido and Silvers Rayleigh.

These characters often use Conqueror’s Haki both defensively and offensively during battle to become nearly impossible to harm or defeat.

Recommended >> Top 10 strongest Haki users in One Piece

Haki Auras & Colors

By harnessing Conqueror’s Haki and radiating it outward in the form of a powerful wave. This haki can have an intimidating effect on your opponents and intimidate them with its strength and power.

Haki Auras can be used as both an offensive and defensive tool, depending on the user’s intentions. When using it offensively, Haki Auras can instantaneously knock out opponents or even cause fear that could result in their defeat before battle has even begun!

Haki Color Representations

When does luffy learn Haki banner

In order to show the viewers and readers the activation of Haki and differentiate between its types, the author has added color coded auras.

  • Armament Haki users have a visible black or dark violet, iron-like enhancement. Whether it is used on their body or weapons, the color of the target will turn black.
  • Observation Haki does not have any visible aura. But for explaining the watchers, Luffy had luminous red eyes when seeing the future.
  • Conqueror’s Haki users give off a black aura with a red outline.

Developing and Enhancing Haki Power

Developing and mastering the use of Haki can take some time and dedication. To increase proficiency, users start by focusing on one form of haki until they are comfortable with it.

Once they feel confident in their control, they move on to combining two forms together or perfecting a higher level sub-form like future prediction using Observation Haki.

Conqueror’s Haki on the other hand cannot be obtained through training. Only chosen once have it, and they can improve by constantly using it.

Limitations of Haki Usage

haki limitations

While Haki is an incredibly powerful skill, it is not without its limitations. People can only use one type of Haki at a time without much drawback. Even then, they cannot maintain Haki usage for prolonged time without mastery.

Using multiple Haki at a time may lead to severe loss of stamina. The energy used for Haki skills is very taxing, so long-term usage can lead to exhaustion or even death in extreme cases.

Additionally, using Conqueror’s Haki on living beings may backfire if the recipient has strong willpower.

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] you might already know, there are three different types of haki. There are subtypes for each Haki, which I’ve listed in this article for your […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top